Home>Security>CCTV>Fire and Security firms honoured
Home>Security>Guarding>Fire and Security firms honoured
Home>Fire>Risk Assessment>Fire and Security firms honoured

Fire and Security firms honoured

22 February 2019

THE SHORTLIST for the Safety and Health Excellence Awards 2019, which includes categories on fire safety and security, has been announced following a record number of entries.

An esteemed panel of key industry figures whittled down more than 200 entries to a shortlist of 91 entries across ten categories. The panel of judges included Dr Graham Cory (Institution of Fire Engineers), Dr Bob Docherty (Institute of Fire Safety Managers), Graham Ferris (Independent Fire Engineering & Distributors Association), Dr Jim Glockling (Fire Protection Association), Ian Moore (Fire Industry Association), Neal Stone (ex-British Safety Council), Geoff Tate (SSAIB chairman) and Louise Ward (ex-British Safety Council) and Barry Wilkes (NEBOSH).

The winners will be unveiled at a gala awards dinner on 10 April 2019, which will be hosted by comedian Sean Lock at the prestigious VOX at Resorts World, NEC Birmingham. The shortlists are as follows:

Campaign of the Year

Quorn Foods
CAN Group
UK Power Networks
Scot-Mid Co-Op

UK Asbestos Training Association (UKATA)

Total Bitumen

Best Health & Safety Project (Sponsored by Arco)

Deeside Cereals
IMI Critical Engineering
Lincolnshire County Council
Road Safety Prospects LTD
Ultra Electronics PMES
Warrington and Halton Hospitals Foundation NHS Trust
Wire-Free Protection Ltd

Alan McArthur Unsung hero (Sponsored by 3M)

Robert Saile – Ravenair
John Cairns – Safety Groups UK
Sheila Grant - ContourMC Ltd
Henk Vanhoutte – European Safety Federation 
Fred Charlton – RPE2Fit
John Gill – Uvex Safety
Sarah McOnie – McOnie
Gul Kapor – Telefonica UK 
Teresa Swinton - Paradigm Human Performance
Amitabh Bhattacharya - Global Environmental Management Services

Best Health and Safety in Manufacturing 

Hughes Safety Showers Ltd
Trigon Snacks Trading Ltd
Barretts of Aspley
The Bury Black Pudding Company

Best Health and Safety in Construction (Sponsored by Turner & Townsend)

asecos Ltd
Bull Products
Hunter Group
Tower Bersama Infrastructure Group
Wills Bros Civil Engineering Ltd
Winvic Construction Ltd

HSM Health and Safety Manager of the Year (Sponsored by Alcumus)

Adrian Bracken - Winvic Construction Ltd

Jane Downey - Travis Perkins

Adam Gomes - Eco Air Control Limited
John Jebson - McGinley Support Services
Gillian Farrell – CAN Group
Donald Macfarlane - Downhole Products Limited
Mathew Raju – One Holding Ltd
Clive Werrett - Worcestershire County Council
David Whitehouse – Virgin Trains
Brian Youl – Fox Industrial Services Ltd

HSM Rising Star

Paul Bolton - M247
Bruce Bahlaj - Auto Windscreens
Martin Eccles - Hughes Safety Showers Ltd
Craig Evans - UK Asbestos Training Association
Gul Kapor – Telefonica UK
Robert Saile – Ravenair
Teresa Swinton - Paradigm Human Performance Ltd
Hannah Sydney - RAW Technology Limited
Melanie Tennela - Health & Safety Made Easy
Adam Topham - Winvic Construction

Health and Safety Team of the Year (Sponsored by NEBOSH)

Arnold Clark
Briggs Defence
CrossCountry trains

GAE Engineering
Incentive FM Group Ltd
O'Donovan Waste Disposal Ltd
Rudolph and Hellmann Automotive Ltd

The Football Association
Turner & Townsend
Warmworks Scotland

Innovation of Year for Fire

Bull Products – Bull Mobile Detection Device
Marlowe Fire & Security – Sprinkler retrofit programme
EMS Ltd - SmartCell wireless detector
Coltraco - Portasonic 2.FL0

Kentec Taktis 16L
Evacite – Safety Signs 
FirePro UK – FirePro
asecos - ION-LINE
Jactone – Watermist range

Firetronics - FT5S
FSi Ltd -  Pass-it Transit System 

Innovation of Year for Security

Future Fibre Technologies - Aura Ai-2
Safe Shores Monitoring - Companion 
Texecom – Texecom Cloud
Pinnacle Response – BodyCam
Bull Products - ExclusionZone Alarm
BT Redcare - Next Generation
IDIS – IDIS 12MP Super Fisheye
Safe Apps Ltd – IncidentEye
SoloProtect - ID Pro

Lifetime Achievement Award (Sponsored by Southalls)

To be announced on the night!

SHE Awards director David Bishop commented: “We've had a phenomenal response from the sector by receiving more than 200 entries for the awards. We are proud that the event will once again be delivered in association with The British Safety Industry Federation as it's our joint aim for these awards to celebrate the commitment, endeavour and improvement ably demonstrated in the health, safety, fire and security sectors.

"We are grateful to all who entered and to the judges that volunteered their time to ensure we had independently selected shortlists and winners. The Safety & Health Excellence Awards offer a fabulous evening of fun, networking and recognising the great role that all the entrants have played at keeping people and premises safe. With 500 people expected to attend it's a must attend networking evening and we look forward to seeing you there."

The SHE Awards, sponsored by Able Safety, take place on 10 April 2019 at the Vox, Resorts World, NEC Birmingham and tickets are on sale now. A table of ten costs £1800+VAT and individual tickets cost £199+VAT. To book your ticket visit www.she-awards.co.uk or call 01342 314 300.